Too Jewish?

Since becoming observant I have become filled with pride about who I am,  my heritage, my birthright, the ethics and philosophy of my people.

Yet it’s normally around our own people that I feel most restricted to express and explore Jewish ideas, songs and culture.

Why are there so many Jews who are anti Jewish? I don’t get it. What are they afraid of? Why shouldn’t we be proud of our essence?

Sometimes I think it’s pure prejudice from fear of the unknown,  a lack of knowledge, but I find this excuse hard to swallow in our day and age. There’s so much education and resources on offer.Then I think maybe they had a bad experience that they carry. I don’t know. I always try to judge favourably, to make excuses for them.

All i know is I hate pretending.I hate watering things down in case I make another Jew feel I’m “too Jewish”. Sometimes I just don’t have the energy. I just pray they will open their minds and reconnect with their neshamas, their souls, and just accept who they are. Maybe then it wouldn’t feel too Jewish.

I wish they could just join in and sing the song I often sing on Shabbos:

“I’m a Jew and I’m proud,
and I sing it out loud,
Hashem is always watching over me,
Ya ya ya…”

image

Leave a Reply

